animalistic!

No Culture Without Animals

27 August 2021 – 20 November 2022

Animals matter to us as human beings – in all kinds of ways. They are found everywhere, and we cannot imagine life without them. Our relationship with them is varied, but also ambivalent.

Welcome to the Poodle Club! Well-dressed ladies and gents pose along with their groomed dogs in a giant-sized photograph by Ursula Sprecher and Andi Cortellini. 

This image beckons visitors into the exhibition. Like the surrounding space, it conveys the impression of a snug living room. Humans and animals feel at home here – as suggested by the dog lead, hoody, and vaccination certificate. 

Demeaned
Animals were domesticated over many thousands of years, and today they are members of our families. Human beings seek out the company of animals, both living and in other forms. An illustrative selection from the museum’s holdings reveals how humans, from a very young age, surround themselves with toy animals as well as animal-shaped utensils and knick-knacks.

The 250 or so postcards of cats in the exhibition are another visual treat. In many cultures animals function as storytellers, and cats in particular are popular when it comes to conveying our emotions. The “LOLcat” phenomenon reveals the corny side of the humanization of animals. 

Used
In our relationship with animals, we humans continue to adopt the role of master, however. We use them for work, transport, and in wartime. In a farmhouse setting, the next room with its heavy wooden tables displays feeding troughs, muzzles, hobbles, saddles, and a yoke.

Milking stools, tail clamps for cows, and beehives point to animals as sources of nutrition. In one corner, visitors will think they have wandered into a butcher’s shop. Photographs, including the wall-sized image by Chien-Chi Chang, illustrate consumer behaviour. 

Hunted  
Visitors next have to walk through a large cage that serves as a symbol of the power human beings wield over animals. What it must feel like to be ensnared can practically be experienced here at first hand. Implements used in the hunting, capturing, and killing of animals are on display here.  

Sixty red deer antlers cover the wall as trophies. In front of them an arena has been created. Containing spurs that used to be fastened to the legs of gamecocks, cages for crickets, or lances used in bullfighting, this space spotlights how animals are used for the entertainment of humans – and suffer for it. 

Worshipped
The tables are turned in the exhibition’s final section where animals and deities in animal form take precedence over human beings. The latter – such as the Jaguar warriors of ancient Mexico, or the “shark whisperers” of the Solomon Islands – enter into a special compact with the former who, in the form of amulets, offer protection and favour, and – like the Indian wish-fulfilling cow – are worshipped by them. The relationship between humans and animals can be different after all. 

Children and families
Young visitors can linger in the exhibition and choose what animal they would like to be, imitate animal sounds, decorate animals, or listen to stories, write cat postcards, and not least laugh at animals that can outsmart us. 

“ animalistic! One Theme – Four Exhibitions ” is a joint project by four Basel museums:
Museum der Kulturen Basel, Historisches Museum Basel – Musikmuseum, Antikenmuseum Basel und Sammlung Ludwig, and Pharmaziemuseum Basel: tierischbasel.ch

We thank the Foundation Museum der Kulturen Basel for their generous financial support.

tierisch!

Keine Kultur ohne Tiere

27. August 2021 – 20. November 2022

Für uns Menschen sind Tiere wichtig – auf ganz unterschiedliche Weise. Sie sind omnipräsent und aus unserem Leben nicht wegzudenken. Die Beziehung zu ihnen ist vielfältig, aber auch ambivalent.

Willkommen im Pudelclub! Gut angezogene Damen und Herren posieren mit gepflegten Hunden – auf einem riesigen Foto von Ursula Sprecher und Andi Cortellini.

Das Bild zieht die Besucherinnen und Besucher gleich hinein in die Ausstellung. Es vermittelt, wie der umgebende Raum, eine behagliche Wohnzimmeratmosphäre. Hier sind Mensch und Tier zuhause. Leine, Hoodie und Impfausweis untermalen dies.

Verniedlicht
Tiere wurden über tausende von Jahren domestiziert und sind heute Familienmitglieder. Die Menschen suchen die Nähe zu Tieren, in lebender und anderer Form. Eine anschauliche Auswahl aus der Museumssammlung zeigt, wie sie sich von klein auf mit Spielzeugtieren, Gebrauchsgegenständen und Nippes in Tierform umgeben.

Ein Augenschmaus sind auch die rund 250 Katzenpostkarten. Tiere fungieren in vielen Kulturen als Erzähler. Katzen sind beliebte emotionale Botschafterinnen. Am Phänomen der Lolcats wird die kitschige Vermenschlichung der Tiere deutlich.

Benutzt
In der Beziehung zum Tier übernimmt aber der Mensch nach wie vor die Rolle des Herrn und der Meisterin. Er benutzt Tiere für Arbeit, Transporte und im Krieg. In bäuerlicher Ambiente, auf schweren Holztischen sind im nächsten Raum Futtertröge, Maulkörbe, Kniefesseln, ein Ochsenjoch oder Sättel zu sehen.   

Melkstühle, Kuhschwanzzangen und Bienenkörbe verweisen auf die Funktion der Tiere als Nahrungsmittellieferanten. In einer Ecke wähnt man sich in einer Metzgerei. Bilder, u.a. ein wandgrosses Foto von Chien-Chi Chang, illustrieren den Konsum.

Gejagt
Dann führt der Weg durch einen grossen Käfig. Er ist ein Symbol für die Macht der Menschen über die Tiere. Wie es ist, beinahe in Fallen zu treten, wird hier hautnah erlebt. Mit welchen Geräten Tiere gefangen, gejagt und getötet werden, sind hier ausgestellt.

An der Wand hängen Trophäen: 60 Rothirschgeweihe. Davor ist eine Art Arena aufgebaut. Hier wird anhand von Hahnenkampfmessern, Grillenkäfigen oder Stierkampfspiessen thematisiert, dass Tiere der Unterhaltung der Menschen dienen – und darunter leiden.

Verehrt
Im letzten Raum kehrt sich das Bild respektive die Beziehung: Tiere und Gottheiten in Tiergestalt stehen hier über den Menschen. Sie gehen eine besondere Verbindung mit ihnen ein – wie die Jaguarkrieger in Mexiko oder die Haiflüsterer der Salomonen. Sie schützen und beglücken sie, u.a. als Amulette, und lassen sich von ihnen verehren, wie die indische Wunschkuh. Die Mensch-Tier-Beziehung geht also auch anders.

Kinder und Familien in der Ausstellung
An ein paar Extra-Stationen können Kinder in der Ausstellung verweilen. Sie dürfen wählen, was für Tiere sie sein möchten, Tiergeräusche nachahmen, Tiere schmücken, Geschichten hören, Katzenpostkarten schreiben sowie mit Tieren lachen, die uns Menschen reinlegen.

«tierisch! Ein Thema – vier Ausstellungen» ist eine Kooperation von vier Basler Museen:
Museum der Kulturen Basel, Historisches Museum Basel, Antikenmuseum Basel und Sammlung Ludwig und Pharmaziemuseum der Universität Basel.

Wir danken der Stiftung zur Förderung des MKB für ihre grosszügige finanzielle Unterstützung.