animalistic!

No Culture Without Animals

27 August 2021 – 20 November 2022

Animals matter to us as human beings – in all kinds of ways. They are found everywhere, and we cannot imagine life without them. Our relationship with them is varied, but also ambivalent.

Welcome to the Poodle Club! Well-dressed ladies and gents pose along with their groomed dogs in a giant-sized photograph by Ursula Sprecher and Andi Cortellini. 

This image beckons visitors into the exhibition. Like the surrounding space, it conveys the impression of a snug living room. Humans and animals feel at home here – as suggested by the dog lead, hoody, and vaccination certificate. 

Demeaned
Animals were domesticated over many thousands of years, and today they are members of our families. Human beings seek out the company of animals, both living and in other forms. An illustrative selection from the museum’s holdings reveals how humans, from a very young age, surround themselves with toy animals as well as animal-shaped utensils and knick-knacks.

The 250 or so postcards of cats in the exhibition are another visual treat. In many cultures animals function as storytellers, and cats in particular are popular when it comes to conveying our emotions. The “LOLcat” phenomenon reveals the corny side of the humanization of animals. 

Used
In our relationship with animals, we humans continue to adopt the role of master, however. We use them for work, transport, and in wartime. In a farmhouse setting, the next room with its heavy wooden tables displays feeding troughs, muzzles, hobbles, saddles, and a yoke.

Milking stools, tail clamps for cows, and beehives point to animals as sources of nutrition. In one corner, visitors will think they have wandered into a butcher’s shop. Photographs, including the wall-sized image by Chien-Chi Chang, illustrate consumer behaviour. 

Hunted  
Visitors next have to walk through a large cage that serves as a symbol of the power human beings wield over animals. What it must feel like to be ensnared can practically be experienced here at first hand. Implements used in the hunting, capturing, and killing of animals are on display here.  

Sixty red deer antlers cover the wall as trophies. In front of them an arena has been created. Containing spurs that used to be fastened to the legs of gamecocks, cages for crickets, or lances used in bullfighting, this space spotlights how animals are used for the entertainment of humans – and suffer for it. 

Worshipped
The tables are turned in the exhibition’s final section where animals and deities in animal form take precedence over human beings. The latter – such as the Jaguar warriors of ancient Mexico, or the “shark whisperers” of the Solomon Islands – enter into a special compact with the former who, in the form of amulets, offer protection and favour, and – like the Indian wish-fulfilling cow – are worshipped by them. The relationship between humans and animals can be different after all. 

Children and families
Young visitors can linger in the exhibition and choose what animal they would like to be, imitate animal sounds, decorate animals, or listen to stories, write cat postcards, and not least laugh at animals that can outsmart us. 

“ animalistic! One Theme – Four Exhibitions ” is a joint project by four Basel museums:
Museum der Kulturen Basel, Historisches Museum Basel – Musikmuseum, Antikenmuseum Basel und Sammlung Ludwig, and Pharmaziemuseum Basel: tierischbasel.ch

We thank the Foundation Museum der Kulturen Basel for their generous financial support.

bestial !

Pas de culture sans animaux

27 août 2021 – 20 novembre 2022

Pour nous, les êtres humains, les animaux sont importants– de manières très diverses. Ils sont omniprésents et nous ne pouvons imaginer notre vie sans eux. Nos relations avec eux sont aussi variées qu’ambivalentes.

Bienvenue au club des caniches ! Des dames et des messieurs bien habillés posent en compagnie de chiens bien toilettés – sur une immense photo d’Ursula Sprecher et Andi Cortellini.

Cette photo attire immédiatement les visiteuses et visiteurs dans l’exposition. Tout comme l’espace environnant, elle transmet une atmosphère douillette de salle de séjour. Une pièce dans laquelle l’homme et l’animal sont tous deux chez eux. La laisse, le sweat-shirt à capuche et le carnet de vaccination le soulignent.

Chéris
Pendant des milliers d’années, les animaux ont été domestiqués et ils sont désormais devenus des membres de la famille. Les êtres humains recherchent la proximité avec les bêtes, vivantes ou pas. Une sélection parlante de pièces provenant de la collection du musée montre comment nous nous entourons, dès notre plus jeune âge, de jouets, d’ustensiles et de bibelots en forme d’animaux.

Les quelques 250 cartes postales de chats sont également un régal pour les yeux. Dans de nombreuses cultures, les animaux jouent le rôle de conteurs. Les chats sont des messagers émotionnels fort prisés. Le phénomène des lolcats illustre l’humanisation kitsch des animaux.

Utilisés
Mais dans la relation avec l’animal, l’être humain assume encore et toujours le rôle de seigneur et maîtresse. Il se sert des animaux pour le travail, le transport et la guerre. La salle suivante nous plonge dans une atmosphère paysanne : sur de lourdes tables en bois, on peut y voir des mangeoires, des muselières, des genouillères, un joug de bœuf ou des selles.      

Les chaises à traire, les brides queues pour vaches et les ruches renvoient à la fonction de fournisseur de nourriture qu’ont les animaux. Dans un coin, on s’imagine dans une boucherie. Des photos, dont une photo murale de Chien-Chi Chang, illustrent la consommation

Chassés
Le parcours nous fait ensuite traverser une grande cage. C’est un symbole du pouvoir des êtres humains sur les animaux. Ici, on expérimente de près, ce que manquer de tomber dans un piège signifie. Les visiteuses et visiteurs découvrent le matériel utilisé pour piéger, chasser et tuer les animaux.

Des trophées sont suspendus au mur : soixante ramures de cerf élaphe. Devant eux s’étend une sorte d’arène. Ici, les couteaux dont on équipe les coqs lors de combats de coqs, les cages à grillons et les lances de tauromachie illustrent comment les animaux sont utilisés pour divertir les êtres humains – et comment ils en souffrent.

Vénérés
Dans la dernière salle, l’image – et la relation – s’inverse : les animaux et les divinités sous forme animale sont ici supérieurs aux êtres humains. Les animaux construisent une relation spéciale avec eux – comme dans le cas des guerriers jaguars au Mexique ou des « chuchoteurs » de requins aux îles Salomon. Ils les protègent, les ravissent – notamment sous la forme d’amulettes – et se font vénérer par eux, comme la vache sacrée indienne. La relation entre l’être humain et l’animal peut donc fonctionner autrement.

Pour les enfants et les familles
Quelques stations supplémentaires permettent aux enfants de s’attarder dans l’exposition. Ils peuvent choisir l’animal qu’ils voudraient être, imiter des sons d’animaux, décorer des animaux, écouter des histoires, écrire des cartes postales de chats et rire des animaux qui bernent les êtres humains.

« bestial ! Un thème – quatre expositions » est une coopération entre quatre musées bâlois : Museum der Kulturen Basel, Historisches Museum Basel, Antikenmuseum Basel und Sammlung Ludwig, Pharmaziemuseum der Universität Basel: tierischbasel.ch

Nous remercions la Fondation Museum der Kulturen Basel pour son généreux soutien financier.