Memory

Moments of Remembering and Forgetting

until 7 July 2024

How do people recall memorable moments, individuals, and places? Often by means of objects. Four hundred items from the museum’s collection reveal various forms and cultural practices that help us to remember – and to forget.

Throughout their lifetime, people retain memories of events and individuals of importance to them. Our exhibition starts with deeply personal memories, captured either in lines of poetry, in photo albums, or in certificates of baptism. A wall-filling display contains souvenirs illustrating at the same time that memories are often associated with objects – here testified by over 400 exhibits from the museum’s collection that speak to personal events such as births, marriages, and deaths. These objects also serve as reminders of social events, wars, disasters, borders being opened, or of days marking independence.

Memory Aids
The exhibition illustrates how events like these are remembered, kept secret, or even forgotten through a variety of ways and means; similarities are revealed, too. Memory aids, for instance, are commonplace around the world. Peru’s Incas tied knots in cords with which they recorded dates and stories. Here in Switzerland, marks were made on tally sticks to regulate access to the common irrigation system.

Eye-catching
For thousands of years, great epics and sacred writings have ensured that people’s experiences and history would be remembered. Written by scholars, the Bible, Torah, Koran, Ethiopian healing scrolls, or the bark books of Batak ritual specialists in Indonesia represent impressive examples. In the 1980s, civil-society organizations, artists, and politicians used fabrics, paintings, and posters to record events such as decolonization, the end of apartheid in South Africa, or the grievances, violence, and suppression associated with Latin American dictatorships.

In memoriam
The exhibition concludes with examples of remembrance of the dead. In Europe, hair craft, stone monuments, and grave crosses commemorate the dead. In Mexico, those who have died are remembered in Day of the Dead celebrations in which, for instance, dancing skeletons are displayed on home altars. In Peru, on the other hand, the indigenous Machiguenga people make wooden guardian figures to protect them against the spirits of the dead.

Memory

Moments du souvenir et de l’oubli

Jusqu’au 7 juillet 2024

Comment les êtres humains se souviennent-ils de moments, de personnes et de lieux mémorables? Souvent par le biais d’objets. Quatre cents objets de la collection du musée montrent les multiples formes et pratiques culturelles du souvenir, mais aussi de l’oubli.

Tout au long de leurs vies, les hommes gardent en mémoire les événements et les personnes qui sont importants pour eux. L’exposition commence par des souvenirs très personnels – conservés dans des albums de poésie, des albums photos ou des lettres de baptême. En même temps, un mur entièrement recouvert de casiers remplis des souvenirs montre clairement que la mémoire est souvent liée à des objets. Plus de 400 pièces de la collection du musée en témoignent. Elles recèlent des informations personnelles, comme des naissances, mariages ou décès. Mais elles nous rappellent aussi des événements sociaux, des guerres, des catastrophes, l’ouverture de frontières ou des jours d’indépendance.

Aide-mémoires
L’exposition montre comment ces moments sont commémorés – ou comment ils sont dissimulés ou oubliés. Les pratiques et les formes les plus diverses existent à cet effet. Les points communs sont eux aussi révélés. Par exemple, des aide-mémoires contre l’oubli sont répandus dans le monde entier. Les Incas du Pérou faisaient des nœuds aux cordes pour retenir des dates et des histoires. Et en Suisse, on se servait de bâtons de comptage pour noter qui était autorisé à utiliser l’eau et quand.

Percutant
Grandes épopées et Écritures saintes empêchent depuis des millénaires les expériences et l’Histoire d’être oubliées. La Bible, la Torah, le Coran, les rouleaux de guérison d’Éthiopie et les livres de guérison des Batak d’Indonésie en sont autant de témoignages saisissants, rédigés par des érudits. Dans les années 1980, des organisations sociales, des artistes et des personnalités politiques ont retenu des événements sur des étoffes, tableaux et affiches : la décolonisation, la fin de l’apartheid en Afrique du Sud ou les dysfonctionnements, la violence et l’oppression dans les dictatures d’Amérique latine.

In memoriam
L’exposition s’achève par la commémoration des morts. En Europe, les tableaux de cheveux, les monuments en pierre et les croix funéraires nous rappellent les défunts. Au Mexique, les morts sont joyeusement célébrés lors du « Día de los Muertos ». Formant un drôle de spectacle, des ensembles de squelettes dansent alors sur une plateforme d’exposition. Au Pérou, en revanche, l’ethnie des Matsiguenga sculpte des gardiens en bois pour protéger les vivants des morts.