Memory

Moments of Remembering and Forgetting

until 7 July 2024

How do people recall memorable moments, individuals, and places? Often by means of objects. Four hundred items from the museum’s collection reveal various forms and cultural practices that help us to remember – and to forget.

Throughout their lifetime, people retain memories of events and individuals of importance to them. Our exhibition starts with deeply personal memories, captured either in lines of poetry, in photo albums, or in certificates of baptism. A wall-filling display contains souvenirs illustrating at the same time that memories are often associated with objects – here testified by over 400 exhibits from the museum’s collection that speak to personal events such as births, marriages, and deaths. These objects also serve as reminders of social events, wars, disasters, borders being opened, or of days marking independence.

Memory Aids
The exhibition illustrates how events like these are remembered, kept secret, or even forgotten through a variety of ways and means; similarities are revealed, too. Memory aids, for instance, are commonplace around the world. Peru’s Incas tied knots in cords with which they recorded dates and stories. Here in Switzerland, marks were made on tally sticks to regulate access to the common irrigation system.

Eye-catching
For thousands of years, great epics and sacred writings have ensured that people’s experiences and history would be remembered. Written by scholars, the Bible, Torah, Koran, Ethiopian healing scrolls, or the bark books of Batak ritual specialists in Indonesia represent impressive examples. In the 1980s, civil-society organizations, artists, and politicians used fabrics, paintings, and posters to record events such as decolonization, the end of apartheid in South Africa, or the grievances, violence, and suppression associated with Latin American dictatorships.

In memoriam
The exhibition concludes with examples of remembrance of the dead. In Europe, hair craft, stone monuments, and grave crosses commemorate the dead. In Mexico, those who have died are remembered in Day of the Dead celebrations in which, for instance, dancing skeletons are displayed on home altars. In Peru, on the other hand, the indigenous Machiguenga people make wooden guardian figures to protect them against the spirits of the dead.

Memory

Momente des Erinnerns und Vergessens

Dauerausstellung

Wie erinnern sich Menschen an denkwürdige Momente, Personen und Orte? Oft anhand von Dingen. 400 Objekte aus der Museumssammlung zeigen die vielfältigen Formen und kulturellen Praktiken des Erinnerns, aber auch des Vergessens.

Das ganze Leben hindurch bewahren Menschen für sie wichtige Ereignisse und Personen im Gedächtnis. Die Ausstellung beginnt mit sehr persönlichen Erinnerungen – festgehalten in Poesie- und Fotoalben oder Taufbriefen. Ein wandfüllender Setzkasten mit Souvenirs verdeutlicht zugleich, dass Erinnerungen oft an Dinge geknüpft sind. Über 400 Exponate aus der Museumssammlung zeugen davon. Sie bergen Persönliches wie Geburten, Hochzeiten oder den Tod. Sie erinnern aber auch an gesellschaftliche Ereignisse, an Kriege, Katastrophen, Grenzöffnungen oder Unabhängigkeitstage.

Gedächtnisstützen
Die Ausstellung zeigt, wie diesen Momenten gedacht wird – oder wie sie verschwiegen respektive vergessen werden. Es gibt hierbei unterschiedlichste Praktiken und Formen. Aufgedeckt werden auch die Gemeinsamkeiten. So sind zum Beispiel Gedächtnisstützen gegen das Vergessen auf der ganzen Welt verbreitet. Die Inka in Peru machten Knoten in Schnüre, um Daten und Geschichten aufzuzeichnen. Und in der Schweiz wurde auf Kerbhölzern festgehalten, wer wann Wasser brauchen durfte.

Plakativ
Grosse Epen und heilige Schriften garantieren seit Jahrtausenden, dass Erfahrungen und Geschichte nicht in Vergessenheit geraten. Bibel, Tora, Koran, Heilungsrollen aus Äthiopien und Heilungsbücher der Batak aus Indonesien sind hierfür eindrückliche Zeugnisse. Diese Schriften wurden von Gelehrten verfasst. In den 1980er-Jahren hielten soziale Organisationen, Künstlerinnen und Politiker Ereignisse auf Stoffen, Gemälden und Plakaten fest: die Dekolonisierung, das Ende der Apartheid in Südafrika oder Missstände, Gewalt und Unterdrückung in lateinamerikanischen Diktaturen.

Im Gedenken
Die Ausstellung endet mit dem Gedenken an die Toten. In Europa erinnern Haarbilder, Steinmonumente und Grabkreuze an die Verstorbenen. In Mexiko werden die Toten am «Día de los Muertos» fröhlich gefeiert. Witzige Skelettensembles tanzen dabei auf einem Ausstellungspodest. In Peru hingegen schafft die Ethnie der Matsiguenga hölzerne Wächterfiguren zum Schutz vor den Toten.