Making the World

Lived Worlds

26 March 2021 - 23 January 2022

Humans shape the world they inhabit. How they do this is the topic of two exhibitions at the Museum der Kulturen Basel and the Kunstmuseum Basel, respectively.

Works from the museum’s own collections, the Kunstmuseum Basel, and the Emanuel Hoffmann Foundation are juxtaposed and set in relation to one another. Among other things, they reveal their creators and makers are intertwined with the worlds they inhabit.

The focus is on the following themes: relationships, orientation, traces, and imaginations. Old European masters, African masks, Asian shadow plays along with an orator’s stool from Oceania tell about the multitude and variability of relationships. The exhibits reflect relations of humans amongst each other, with the animal world, as well as with ancestors who, in turn, exert influence on human life.

Orientation
Mobility, both mental and physical, has always been an issue for humans. It’s all about findings one’s bearings in the world. For orientation people often rely on charts and illustrations, for example, in the shape of a Micronesian stick chart, the painting Rich Harbour (a travel image) by Paul Klee, or a Tibetan thangka.

Wherever people travel, live and work, they leave traces in the landscape – for example with ploughs. A series of artworks not only depict cultural landscapes but also scenes of industrialization and environmental degradation. A war rug from Afghanistan and an arpillera, a patchwork picture from Chile, testify to traces of a quite different nature: humans seem bent on destroying the world through war and suppression, through their craving for power.

Finally, large paintings and textiles from across the world show how humans immerse themselves in imaginary, surreal or cubist worlds, forests, and cities and render them artistically.

The exhibition at the Kunstmuseum Basel (27.11.2021–24.4.2022) deals with “spiritual worlds” and centres on the human spirit and how it lends meaning to the world through belief and religious imagery.

Making the World

Mondes vécus

26 mars 2021 – 23 janvier 2022

L’être humain façonne le monde. Comment ? Le Museum der Kulturen Basel et le Kunstmuseum Basel le montrent au fil de deux expositions.

Au fil de cinq stations, le MKB met en relation des œuvres issues de sa propre collection, de celle du Kunstmuseum Basel et de celle de la fondation Emanuel Hoffmann, y compris des œuvres de Paul Klee, Jan Brueghel d. Älteren, Lyonel Feininger, Wassily Kandinsky, Barnett Newman et Fischli/Weiss. Elles donnent un aperçu de l’imbrication complexe de leurs créatrices et créateurs avec le monde dans lequel ils vivent.

L’accent est placé sur les thèmes des relations, de l’orientation, des traces laissées derrière soi et des imaginations. Des œuvres d’anciens grands maîtres européens, des masques africains, des marionnettes asiatiques provenant du théâtre d’ombres ou un pupitre d’Océanie révèlent la diversité des relations. Les pièces exposées reflètent les liens qu’entretiennent les êtres humains entre eux, mais aussi avec les animaux ou les ancêtres – qui, à leur tour, influencent la vie.

Orientation
Qu’elle soit mentale ou physique, la mobilité a toujours été importante pour l’être humain. Ce dernier doit s’orienter dans le monde. Les cartes et illustrations permettent de s’orienter – par exemple une carte à bâtonnets micronésienne, le tableau « Port florissant (un tableau de voyage) » de Paul Klee ou encore une thangka tibétaine.

L’être humain laisse des traces partout où il voyage, vit et travaille – par exemple par des charrues. Les œuvres d’art représentent des paysages culturels, mais aussi l’industrialisation ou la destruction de l’environnement. Le tapis de guerre d’Afghanistan ou l’« arpillera », un tableau chilien en patchwork, racontent des traces complètement différentes. L’être humain détruit le monde par l’oppression et la guerre, par sa soif de pouvoir.

À la fin de l’exposition, de grandes peintures et des textiles de tous les continents montrent comment l’être humain se transporte dans des villes, forêts et mondes imaginaires, surréalistes, voire cubistes et les capture sur le plan artistique.

L’exposition du Kunstmuseum Basel (27.11.2021-24.4.2022) est consacrée aux « Mondes spirituels ». Elle se consacre à l’esprit humain et à son interprétation du monde à travers la croyance et l’imagerie religieuse.