Enlightened

The Realm of the Buddhas

20 November 2020 – 23 January 2022

The figure of the Buddha fascinates us. We find him in living rooms, gardens, shops, and wellness spas – yet there is not just one of him. This exhibition reveals the diverse nature of Buddhism, and displays objects that are significant in the practice of this widespread religion.

The West has been drawn to Buddhism since the 1950s at the latest. Meditation and mindfulness training are eagerly practised, and have now even taken off online. Figures of the Buddha occur throughout our day-to-day lives.  

Just as there is no one Buddha, so there are many paths that lead to spiritual enlightenment — as the title of the exhibition suggests. Dating back over 2000 years, Buddhism has many strands, here exemplified by some 280 objects from the museum’s own collection which are significant in the practice of Buddhism. Many of them originated in the world-renowned collection of Tibetan art assembled by Gerd-Wolfgang Essen, a specialist in religious studies and gallery owner in Hamburg.

The Three Jewels
The Three Jewels of Buddhism are the focus of the exhibition: the Buddha, his teachings (dharma), and the Buddhist community (sangha). A section is devoted to each of them.  

A monumental Japanese sculpture clearly indicates that the Buddha himself is the focal point of the exhibition’s largest section. Diverse likenesses of him are on show, yet his characteristic features mean he is always recognizable.

Written records of the Buddha’s teachings started to be made in the first century AD, and a number of manuscripts from different parts of Asia are shown in the exhibition. Another of its topics deals with bodhisattvas, compassionate beings who forgo their own extinction in order to help others achieve theirs first. The 14th Dalai Lama is considered a bodhisattva.

The Buddhist community employs a wide range of ritual objects. On display are travelling altars, prayer wheels, monks’ robes, ritual implements, offerings, and much else besides.

Politics and Religion
The next section explores the close ties between religion and politics. The historical figure of the Buddha, Siddhartha Gautama, was the son of a king whom he would ordinarily have succeeded had he not gone on to found Buddhism that today is the official religion of Bhutan, Cambodia, and Thailand, among other states.

Works of art by the Tibetan artist Sonam Brauen that address current political and social issues round off this section.

Illuminé

L'univers des bouddhas

20 novembre 2020 – 23 janvier 2022

Le Bouddha nous fascine. Il est présent dans les salons, les jardins, les magasins et les espaces de bien-être. Mais il n’en existe pas qu’un. L’exposition montre la diversité du bouddhisme et présente des objets importants pour la pratique de cette religion très répandue.

Au plus tard depuis les années 1950, l’Occident est fasciné par le bouddhisme. La méditation et les exercices de pleine conscience sont activement pratiqués et ont depuis longtemps intégré l’univers numérique. Les représentations du Bouddha peuplent la vie quotidienne.

Il n’existe pas qu’un Bouddha. De nombreux chemins mènent à l’illumination. C’est ce qu’indique d’ailleurs le titre de l’exposition. Celle-ci présente les différents courants du bouddhisme, qui a plus de 2000 ans. On y découvre environ 280 objets de la collection du musée, importants pour la pratique bouddhiste. Beaucoup proviennent de la collection tibétaine, de renommée mondiale, de Gerd-Wolfgang Essen, spécialiste en sciences des religions et galeriste hambourgeois.

Les trois joyaux
L’exposition se concentre sur les trois joyaux du bouddhisme : le Bouddha, son enseignement dharma et la communauté sangha. Une station est dédiée à chacun de ces trois joyaux.

Une sculpture monumentale du Japon indique que la plus grande station tourne autour du Bouddha. Il fait l’objet de diverses représentations. Et pourtant, ses particularités nous permettent de le reconnaître systématiquement.

L’enseignement du Bouddha a été consigné par écrit dès le Ier siècle. On y découvre des manuscrits de diverses régions d’Asie. L’exposition se penche aussi sur les bodhisattvas et les bodhisattvis. Ces êtres compatissants se mettent en retrait et aident les autres à atteindre l’illumination. Le 14e dalaï-lama est un bodhisattva.

Pour que la communauté puisse pratiquer sa religion, elle a besoin de divers objets. Cette station permet de découvrir des autels de voyage, des cylindres de prière, des robes de moines, des objets rituels, des offrandes et bien d’autres choses encore.

Politique et religion
La station suivante montre à quel point religion et politique sont liées. Siddhartha Gautama, le Bouddha historique, était le fils d’un souverain et aurait dû succéder à son père. Aujourd’hui, le bouddhisme est la religion d’État au Bhoutan, au Cambodge, en Thaïlande et dans d’autres pays.

Des œuvres de l’artiste tibétaine Sonam Brauen viennent compléter cette station. Dans ses travaux, elle aborde des questions politiques et sociales d’actualité.