Fragments

pots, patchworks, power figures

29 April 2022 – 22 January 2023

Every piece on display in the exhibition bears special value and significance. Whether sewn together from separate parts or decorated with appliqués, whether damaged or mended: piece by piece, the exhibits reveal the power of combining, the art of division, and the force of destruction.

It can happen so quickly: an object slips from your hand, and you are left with a missing handle, a cracked pot, or simply a pile of shards. This is what a phrase on a jug from Alsace or southwestern Germany from 1734 warns of: “If you make me jump on a stone, my shards will make a tone.”

The jug in question is intact but this doesn’t apply to other exhibits in the exhibition: they are damaged, mended, or otherwise imperfect. You have statues without arms, heads without bodies, and pots with visible seams – signs of repair, sometimes done artfully, at others pragmatically.

Despite this, or precisely for this reason, they are now in the limelight, for they are of special significance and bear witness to distinct cultural, social, or religious practices. They embody history, knowledge, and skill. In Japan, for instance, a restored teapot is considered fine art, and gilded accordingly, literally.

The power of combining
When single pieces are joined together, something new with great potential can emerge from them. The exhibition reveals the power of combining, with the help of numerous textiles, figures, and relics.

Sewing together pieces of fabric can result in beautiful cloths, blankets or carnival costumes, either by chance or by design. Garments may acquire special significance, become symbols of power, prestige, and dignity.

Appliqués on garments, made of either metal, cloth, or animal products, lend the clothes or the people wearing them special powers, for instance, to ward off sickness or to celebrate a successful hunt. Substances inserted in wooden figures helps them to protect people from accidents or other adverse influences.

Walk-in workshop
Dealing with fragments, fractures, missing pieces, and damaged patches is daily routine for our team of conservators. A walk-in workshop in the exhibition provides a chance to watch them at work.

The exhibition “Fragments” comes with an accompanying publication in German and English, available at the museum shop or in bookstores.

ISBN 978-3-7757-5306-7 (German)

ISBN 978-3-7757-5307-4 (English)

Fragments

cruches, patchwork, statues puissantes

29 avril 2022 – 22 janvier 2023

Chaque pièce de l’exposition a une valeur et une signification particulières. Qu’elle soit faite de pièces cousues ensemble ou ornée d’applications. Qu’elle soit endommagée ou réparée. Pièce par pièce, la force de la liaison, l’art de la division et la violence de la destruction sont dévoilés.

Tout peut aller très vite : un objet vous glisse des mains et voilà qu’il a perdu son anse, qu’il est fissuré ou brisé. Tel est le dicton qui met en garde sur une cruche d’Alsace ou du sud-ouest de l’Allemagne en 1734 : «Lestu mich auf einen stein springen, so werden meine scherben klingen.» (« Si tu me laisses tomber sur une pierre, mes éclats sonneront. »)

La cruche est intacte. Mais d’autres pièces de l’exposition ne le sont pas : elles sont endommagées, réparées, incomplètes. Il manque des bras aux statues, des têtes n’ont pas de corps, des récipients présentent des joints visibles là où ils ont été réparés – tantôt avec art, tantôt avec pragmatisme.

Et malgré cela, ou justement à cause de cela, ces pièces sont à présent sous le feu des projecteurs. Car elles sont importantes : elles témoignent de pratiques culturelles, sociales ou religieuses. Chaque objet exposé rend compte de l’Histoire, d’un savoir et d’un savoir-faire. Au Japon, par exemple, la réparation d’un bol à thé relève du grand art et est littéralement dorée.

La force de la liaison
Lorsque des pièces isolées sont assemblées, il peut en résulter quelque chose de nouveau au grand potentiel. L’exposition montre la force de la liaison par le biais d’innombrables textiles, statuettes ou reliques.

En cousant des morceaux de tissu ensemble, on obtient, par hasard ou non, de magnifiques foulards, couvertures ou costumes de carnaval. Les vêtements acquièrent une signification particulière, ils deviennent des symboles de pouvoir, de prestige et de dignité.

Les applications sur les vêtements, qu’il s’agisse de tissu, de métal ou de produits animaux, confèrent des pouvoirs aux vêtements ou aux personnes qui les portent, par ex. pour combattre des maladies ou célébrer des succès de chasse. Les substances contenues dans les statuettes permettent de protéger les gens des accidents et des influences négatives.

Atelier de démonstration
Nos restauratrices et conservateurs s’occupent quotidiennement des fragments, des points de rupture, des parties manquantes ou des endroits endommagés. De ce fait, ils donnent régulièrement un aperçu de leur travail dans un atelier de démonstration qui fait partie de l’exposition.

La publication relative à l’exposition « Fragments » est disponible en allemand et en anglais à la boutique du musée ou en librairie.

ISBN 978-3-7757-5306-7 (allemand)

ISBN 978-3-7757-5307-4 (anglais)